History Providers Leaders

Frances Nelson was a significant figure in the history of the Champaign-Urbana community. In the 1940s when African-American children found themselves without a home, Ms. Nelson welcomed them with open arms and put a roof over their heads. She encouraged them to become outstanding members of the community. 

A volunteer-staffed health center was created in the 60's to address the issue of high infant mortality in the African-American community. It has since transformed into a health center with staff physicians dedicated to providing primary health care to the underserved in our community. This health center was named for Frances Nelson when it moved into her former home in 1969.

In 2006, the Health Center moved to its current location on Bloomington Road in Champaign. Just five years later, in 2011, the Frances Nelson Dental Center opened in the same location. In 2012, ownership of both clinics was transferred to a local entity, Promise Healthcare.

Born from a grassroots effort to create a county public health department, SmileHealthy was started in 2002. With a public health mission and the flexibility of a small nonprofit,  SmileHealthy would test and try new ways to deliver care to those who might otherwise go without. They added a mobile dental clinic program which now holds over 50 mobile clinic events a year, serve Champaign County Head Start with a permanent clinic in Rantoul, provide comprehensive education and case management, and even specialty care. 

Board of Directors

Lynne Barnes, President
Claudia Lennhoff, Vice President
Brice Hutchraft, Treasurer
Minnie Pearson, Secretary
Courtney Nicole Bean
Oliva Brown
Marya Burke
Chifan Cheng, DDS
Jerome Dryan
Dr. James Ellis
Cristina Flores
Joe Guyette
Randy Hulett
Martin Nieto
Judy Rubenacker
Michael Shannon
Emily Wee

Leadership Team

Nancy Greenwalt, Executive Director
Pat Owens, Chief Financial Officer
Corinne Kohler, MD, Medical Director
Barb Dalenberg, RN, MHA, Director of Special Projects
Rovee Fabi, Dental Programs Administrator/Board Administration

Promise Healthcare Primary Care Providers
Kristen Erickson, NP
Sandy Foltz, NP
Simone Hampton, MD
Sonja Hansen, MD
Corinne Kohler, MD
Sam Logan, NP
Alina Paul, MD
Nick Ramey, NP
Patti Reichard, NP
Connie Thomas, NP
Carle Family Medicine Residents for OB and pediatrics
U of I Internal Medicine Residents

Promise Healthcare Psychiatrists
Archana Chopra, MD
Feiteng Su, MD
Hang Sung Yang, MD

Promise Healthcare Dentists
Cesar Alburez, DDS
John Anderson, DDS